it’s a trip . . .

tips, quotes, insights, and lessons about writing and publishing learned the hard way

Lessons learned from friends . . . Ian Healy

Feel free to argue this point, but the thing that separates the successful from the unsuccessful, the published from the unpublished is sheer perseverance–to keep writing, writing, writing–through block, snow, sleet, hail or dark of mind.

Author, blogger, man about the Internet Ian Healy is on the fast-track to success

Author, blogger, man about the Internet Ian Healy is on the fast-track to success

I can’t name another writer in my acquaintanceship who better exemplifies perseverance and gritty determination than Ian Healy.

I don’t know how he does it. He’s already written 15,000+ words on his novel during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I have 4,700 words, and I feel successful. He’s topped 15K and feels like he’s failing.

He’s also done NaNo numerous times, earning badges for completing his 50,000 words in several successive Novembers.

He’s got two blogs, he authors a web comic, and one of his books was named to the top 100 in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest last year. And when I blogged regularly, he always made it around to a lot of people’s blogs and made comments, mine included.

I was supposed to have posted this yesterday, but I ended up going to bed early. I was up way too late on election night.

But as soon as I put this post to bed, I intend to go add to my measly word count, inspired by writing mate Ian Healy.

Yes, Ian’s work deserves to be published. But make no mistake about it. When it is published, it will be because he’s earned it. He works harder than any other writer I know.

And I will always fall short, by comparison, but am nonetheless awed  by his determination.

6 Comments»

  Ian wrote @

Thanks so much for the props, Gale. Yes, it’s terribly sad that I feel inadequate this year when I’ve written more faster than in any previous November. At any rate, I’m happy to be an inspiration to you and anyone else, and I hope to continue to do so throughout my career (whenever it launches).

  Frank wrote @

Totally agree with you Gale. Ian has the energy of eight thirteen year old teenagers all possessed by the same little devil that attacked Linda Blair. He would still give the possessor a run for its money and would probably tire the spook out. But on top of all his energy, he still seems to make time to be just a Dad.

Take care Gale
I’m still watching and cheering!!
Frank

  Sherri Cornelius wrote @

Hear, hear! Couldn’t agree more.

Hey there! This is my first comment here so I just

wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your blog

posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
cover the same

topics? Thanks!

  azlyrahman-papers.blogspot.ru wrote @

Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other

sites? I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you

discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to

send me an e mail.

  TerraCheats.com wrote @

It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this piece of writing as well
as from our argument made here.


Leave a comment

  • Top Posts

  • my author bio . . .

    I began writing creatively three years ago, fueled by midlife and a Curves' addiction. Since then, I have published short work in The Christian Science Monitor and Sirens Magazine in the same year. How's that for versatility!
    Sirens Magazine

    Sirens Magazine

    Also the Duck & Herring Company's Pocket Field Guide, The Giggle Water Review, Alighted, Wet Ink Press, America's Funniest Humor, Brilliant!, Laughter Loaf, Flash-Flooding, and the Greensilk Journal where my short story, "How I Boinked John Cusack" won editor's pick.
    The Greensilk Journal

    The Greensilk Journal

    My newest novel, THE SHAKER PROPOSAL, has received numerous accolades, the latest a fifth-place in the 2008 annual NWA (National Writing Association) Novel Contest.
    THE SHAKER PROPOSAL

    THE SHAKER PROPOSAL

    I am a marketing professional by vocation (but not by choice). My husband and I live in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania—the sounds, sites, smells, and flavors of which are a never-ending source of literary inspiration.